become member
Sustainable Agriculture Initiative Platform
The global food value chain initiative for sustainable agriculture
Members Zone

Calendar

WEBINAR | Business and the SDGs: role and opportunities for the food sector

22 March 2017 | Webinar (Members Only)

Join us for a webinar on March 22th, 1PM CET

13:00 Brussels | 8:00 Washington D.C. | 9:00 São Paulo  | 17:30 Delhi | 20:00 Beijing 

 

In view of our Conference in China, in which we will discuss about the role and opportunities for the food sector in supporting the delivery of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), we invite you to participate in this webinar to learn more about the business value emerging from the SDGs. 

Over a year on from the launch of the SDGs, the focus now is how to make meaningful progress. While the public sector will play a critical part in creating the enabling environment for the implementation of the SDGs, the private sector needs to do much of the “heavy lifting.” In the food and agriculture system, concerted action by business can play a key role in delivering more than a quarter of the 169 SDG targets. And the transformation to an SDG-compatible food system can become a great source of growth and opportunity for business.

Toby Brennan, Engagement Manager at AlphaBeta, will speak about the different business opportunities in the food and agriculture system emerging from the SDGs, and the potential economic impact of this transformation in developed and developing countries.

Speaker: Toby Brennan, Engagement Manager, AlphaBeta. He recently led the team that produced Valuing the SDG Prize in Food and Agriculture: Unlocking Opportunities to Accelerate Sustainable and Inclusive Growth for the Business and Sustainable Development Commission. 

Register here